You are here: The Trust

The Trust

The Trust

Southampton Cultural Development Trust is an independent charity whose objective is to support and enable development of the Culture in Southampton through fundraising and advocacy.

The Trust is governed by a board of unpaid volunteer Trustees drawn from the business, education and arts communities, who are advocates for the arts and culture in the city.

The Trust is entirely separate from, but works closely with, Southampton City Council. There is one Council representative on the Board of the Trust.

The Trust is also working closely with the University of Southampton, Southampton Solent University, Southampton Connect and other key organisations across education, business and of course arts and heritage. Southampton Cultural Development Trust is a registered UK charity (Reg No 1139269).

Trustees as of November 2017

Brad Roynon (Chair)

Brad has worked in the NHS and in local government, and since May of this year Brad has taken on the role of Chair of the Southampton Cultural Trust, which reflected his personal enthusiasm to help culture in Southampton become central to City life.

Dahlia Jamil

Dahlia Jamil is an organiser of Women’s Education Association and chair of Art Asia Trust. More info coming soon.

Prof Stephen Foster

Prof Stephen Foster was the Director of the John Hansard Gallery at the University of Southampton until 2017; during which time the Gallery won a substantial reputation for seminal work with artists and curators.

Michael Ockwell

Michael Ockwell is Chief Executive of the Mayflower Theatre and Chair of the Mayflower 400, Southampton steering group.

Sarah Stannard

Sarah Stannard has been Principal and Chief Executive of City College Southampton since the summer of 2013.

Jennifer Anyan

Jennifer Anyan is an artist, creative director and Head of Creative Direction & Styling for Fashion & Beauty at Southampton Solent University with responsibility for leading research strategy in the School of Art, Design & Fashion.

Cllr Derek Burke

Cllr Derek Burke was born in Shirley and has lived in Southampton all his life and is Councillor for Bevois.

Charlie Hislop

Charlie Hislop set up Southampton Festivals as a not-for profit organisation in 2012 to help the city make more of itself - regeneration through events.

Jason Horton

Jason Horton is the BBC's Head of Regional and Local Programmes in Southern England.

Sam Hodges

Sam Hodges is a theatre director and producer. He is currently chief executive of Nuffield Southampton Theatres.

Julian Thould

Julian Thould has been the Head Master of King Edward VI School, Southampton since April 2002.


Louise Coysh, on behalf of University of Southampton
Cllr Satvir Kaur and Mike Harris on behalf of Southampton City Council


James Gough

James Gough is Director of the Southampton Cultural Development Trust. He was appointed Director of Southampton Cultural Development Trust in November 2015. He was previously deputy CEO at the Nuffield Southampton Theatres.

Jim Zalles

Jim Zalles is Project Manager (Major Projects and Mayflower 400) Jim was born in Bolivia and raised in Texas, and grew up with the Mayflower story as a key event in the founding of his home country.